Rectorate, UIN News online– Two alumni of UIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta (formerly IAIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta), Pramono Ubaid Tanthowi and Mochammad Afifudin, managed to walk in into the commissioner ranks of the General Election Commission (KPU) and the Election Supervisory Agency (Bawaslu). Both were appointed by the President Ir. Joko Widodo at the State Palace, Jakarta on Tuesday (04/11/2017), for 2017-2022 period.

Pramono is one of seven commissioners were inaugurated on that day. Six other commissioners were Ilham Saputra, Evi Novida Ginting Manik, Wahyu Setiawan, Hasyim Ashari, Arief Budiman, and Viryan. The inaugural were set by the Presidential Decree (Decree) No. 43 year 2017 concerning the Dismissal and Appointment of General Election Commission.

To stride as KPU commissioner, Pramono had already passed feasibility and appropriateness test  conducted by the Commission II DPR RI. On the feasibility and appropriateness test, Pramono and other commissioner candidates present their vision-mission and programs,  then it was continued to deepening test by answering openly the Council members questions. In addition, Pramono stride in after first competed with other 14 candidates for this position. Five of them are still served as General Election Commission (KPU) RI commissioners, Sigit Pamungkas, Arief Budiman, Hasyim Asyari, Ida Budhiati, Ferry Kurnia Rizkiyansyah.

As Afifuddin, who was inaugurated as Board Elections Commissioner (Bawaslu), there are also four other commissioners namely Ratna Dewi Petalolo, Grace Bagja, Abhan, and Fritz Edward Siregar. They have assigned as Board Elections Commissioner based on Presidential Decree No. 44 year 2017 on Dismissal and Appointment Members of Board Elections Commissioner.

Both Pramono and Afifuddin were products of UIN Jakarta or IAIN Jakarta. Pramono, who was born in Semarang January 17th, 1975 was completing his undergraduate education at the Department of Criminal Civil Islam at Sharia Faculty IAIN Syarif Hidayatullah, Ciputat, Jakarta (1992-1997) before completing his master in political science at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA (2006- 2008). As an additiion, Pramono  had been assisting Bawaslu RI team in 2009-2012 period. He also had bocome the Chairman of the Board Elections Commissioner of Banten Province.

While Afifuddin, who was born in Sidoarjo, East Java on February 1, 1980, completed his undergraduate program in the Department of Tafsir Hadith UIN Jakarta in 2004, then he graduated from Postgraduate of Political Communication UI in 2007. As an NGO activists for election, he has many other activities such as lecture and Chairman of the Political Laboratory UIN Jakarta, and as a member of the Advisory Board JPPR (People’s Voter Education Network). (usa)

Share This