Rectorate, UIN News online – Chairman of State Islamic Higher Education Institution (PTKIN) Rector Association Prof Dr Dede Rosyada MA congratulated on transformation of six State Islamic Institute (IAIN) into State Islamic University. Those changes are expected enriching the status of science and Islamic studies which transmitted by Indonesian Islamic universities.

“As the chairman of PTKIN Rector Associaton, and also as rector, I congratulate to new transformation status of the six IAIN to UIN. I hope with this new status will strengthen our spirit and enrich the extent of PTKIN on science and Islamic studies, ” said Dede Rosyada to UIN News Online, Thursday (4/6).

As acknowledge by the President Ir Joko Widodo who finally signed the Presidential Decree on the change of status of the six PTKIN of IAIN to UIN, the Sixth new born university, changes their names from IAIN Mataram into UIN Mataram under Presidential Decree No. 34 in 2017, IAIN Imam Bonjol into UIN Imam Bonjol based on Presidential Decree No. 35 in 2017, and IAIN Antasari Banjarmasin became UIN Antasari Banjarmasin based on Presidential Decree No. 36 in 2017.

Furthermore, IAIN Sultan Thaha Saifuddin Jambi became IAIN Sultan Thaha Saifuddin Jambi based on Presidential Decree No. 37 in 2017, IAIN Raden Intan Lampung became UIN Raden Intan Lampung based on Presidential Decree No. 38 in 2017, and IAIN Sultan Maulana Hasanuddin Banten became UIN Sultan Maulana Hasanuddin Banten based on regulation No. 39 in 2017.

The Rector also added that the changing institutional status become UIN will enhance it’s encumbrance of responsibility that must be carried through by each shoulder. While on the other hand, the changes present new challenges so that Islamic religious university increases the capacity in order to make it quite competitive with other public university.

Referring to the earlier change of status, such changes encourage to the opening of new courses and faculty which is offered by public colleges. UIN Jakarta, for example, status change was supposedly followed by ability to offer a broader scientific field through the opening of a number of faculties and study programs such as the Faculty of Economics and Business, Faculty of Science and Technology, and the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

On the other hand, changes in status be ascertained necessitates to the increase of society’s expectations of education offered by Islamic religious college. “But at the same time, the changes also require that we maintain Islamic studies area that had been the core of PTKIN science,” he said again.

UIN News Online recorded that the changes status by sixth college into UIN add the long list of PTKIN that is switching it’s institutional status. By the end of 2016, the number of PTKIN which had transformed into UIN is 11 of the total 55 PTKIN (UIN IAIN-STAIN).

All these 11 are UIN Alauddin Makassar, UIN Ar-Raniry Banda Aceh, UIN Maulana Malik Ibrahim Malang, UIN Raden Fatah Palembang, UIN Sultan Syarif Kasim Pekanbaru, UIN North Sumatra, Medan, UIN Sunan Ampel Surabaya, UIN Sunan Gunung Jati Bandung, UIN Sunan Kalijaga, UIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta and UIN Walisongo Semarang.

From all PTKIN that had turned into UIN, UIN Jakarta is considered the first to this PTKIN status. This change was inniciated following presidential decree of the Republic of Indonesia No. 031 dated May 20, 2002 on the Amendment IAIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta became UIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta. (usa)

Share This